Framingham News

News Highlights

Posted on: January 25, 2024

Mayor Sisitsky Announces Leadership For the Framingham School Building Committee

School Building Committee words with city seal in yellow


For further information, contact: 

Susan Scully Petroni 

City of Framingham Public Information Officer 





Mayor Sisitsky Announces Leadership For the Framingham School Building Committee



FRAMINGHAM – City of Framingham Mayor Charlie Sisitsky has named City Councilor George P. King. Jr. chair of the newly-formed Framingham School Building Committee.

 Mayor Charlie Sisitsky on October 31, 2023, signed an executive order to create a 13-member Framingham School Building Committee. 

“As a seasoned professional with years of experience in finance and education, George brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the Framingham School Building Committee. His background in finance has given him a keen eye for detail and an ability to navigate complex budgets, while his experience in education has given him a deep understanding of the needs of students, teachers, and administrators,” said Mayor Charlie Sisitsky.

King, who served as Town Manager from 1999 to 2005, appointed and oversaw the committee responsible for the renovation project at Framingham High School. 

From 2005 to 2017, King was the Assistant Superintendent of Schools for Nashoba Regional School District. While in that role he was involved with the construction of Center Elementary School in Stow. 

 Councilor King has been an at-large City Councilor since 2018, having served as Chair of the Council, and is currently the Finance Subcommittee Chair.

 “I look forward to serving on this important project.  As someone who went to elementary school, practically next door from where we hope to build a new elementary school, I appreciate the importance of establishing a new school in such a large population center of the City,” said Councilor King. “I believe I can use my experience being involved in past school building projects both here in Framingham and in my previous position as Assistant Superintendent for another District, along with the top-notch committee we have assembled in Framingham, will help me as I undertake this role.”

 Mayor Sisitsky named District 4 School Committee member Adam Freudberg, as vice chair of the building committee. A former chair of the School Committee, Freudberg has served as School Committee Finance Subcommittee Chair.

“Adam's attention to detail and his focus on the educational needs will be invaluable to the Committee. Adam has a great collaborative approach which will help the City achieve its goal of a new elementary school in South Framingham,” said Mayor Charlie Sisitsky.

In December, the Massachusetts School Building Authority (MSBA) Board of Directors voted to officially invite Framingham Public Schools into the eligibility period, which would provide funding support for a school building project in Framingham. 

 The City of Framingham is looking to replace Hemenway Elementary School on Water Street, which was built in 1961. The existing facility is insufficient for the enrollment and curriculum of the Framingham Public Schools, and the existing building’s scale and orientation of spaces are outdated and unable to properly adapt to the needs of contemporary school. 

 The City of Framingham hired architects to perform a pre-feasibility study in 2019 for the expansion or replacement of the existing Hemenway Elementary School. This pre-feasibility study delved into the existing building and site, and also expanded to looking at options for a new site, including the possibility of a new southside school.

Last year, the City of Framingham, in a collaboration between the Mayor and the City Council, purchased a 35-acre property from the Sisters of St. Joseph along Bethany Road for educational purposes.

In December 2023, the Mayor named his four appointees to the Framingham School Building Committee. They were Matteo Batista, Roslyn Child, Rachel Evans, and David Panich.

The School Committee selected its chair Jessica Barnhill, from District 8, Freudberg, and District 2 School Committee member David Gordon to serve on the School Building Committee.

City Council Chair Phil Ottaviani Jr. named King, District 5 Councilor Noval Alexander and District 9 Councilor Tracey Bryant to the School Building Committee. Both are former Framingham School Committee members.

The School Committee on January 17, 2024, selected Erin Asbury, Brittney Karpierz, and Scott Wadland to complete the 13-member School Building Committee.

As chair, Councilor King will call the first meeting, expected to be sometime in February 2024.


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News Highlights

Dragon on a red background with Happy Lunar New Year 2024

Happy Lunar New Year!

Posted on: February 10, 2024
Mayor Charlie Sisitsky

Framingham Mayor Charlie Sisitsky Delivers 3rd State of the City Address

Posted on: January 30, 2024 | Last Modified on: July 20, 2023
Photo of Cushing Memorial Chapel

Framingham Mayor Re-Activating Cushing Memorial Chapel Advisory Committee

Posted on: January 23, 2024 | Last Modified on: July 20, 2023