Framingham News

City News

Posted on: January 8, 2024

City Council Chair Names 5 To Temporary Rules Committee

City Council

City Council Chair Names 5 To Temporary Rules Committee


FRAMINGHAM – Framingham City Council Chair Phil Ottaviani Jr. announced he has named five Councilors to a Temporary Rules Committee.

“After much interest by Councilors and discussion with Vice Chair Bryant, we made the decision to increase from 3 to 5 members on the Temporary Rules Committee,” said Chair Ottaviani.

The Temporary Rules Subcommittee will meet to discuss rules for the Council, as well as review the number of subcommittees, and the membership of the subcommittees for the City Council, among other issues.

 Members of the Temporary Rules Committee include:

  • Chair Ottaviani, District 6 Councilor
  • Vice Chair Bryant, District 9 Councilor
  • At-large Councilor Janet Leombruno
  • District 1 City Councilor Christine Long
  • District 4 City Councilor Michael Cannon

At the first meeting, the Committee will elect a chair and a vice chair. The date and time for the first meeting has not been set yet.

The City Council, at its first meeting on January 1, voted to adopt temporary rules for 60 days.

The next full City Council meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, January 16 at 7 p.m. in the Blumer room in the Memorial Building.