Framingham News

City News

Posted on: April 27, 2022

City Council Unanimously Approves Framingham Mayor’s


For further information, contact:

Susan Nicholl                                     

Tel (508) 532-5428, M (508) 864-2724


City Council Unanimously Approves Framingham Mayor’s Appointees for Planning & Community Development Director and Five Boards and Commissions 



FRAMINGHAM, MA - Mayor Charlie Sisitsky’s appointment of Natick resident Sarkis M. Sarkisian to serve as the city’s new Director of Planning & Community Development (PCD) was unanimously approved by the City Council at its April 26 meeting.


Mr. Sarkisian appeared with the Mayor to discuss his goals with the Councilors, first at an Appointments Subcommittee Meeting and one hour later at the full City Council meeting.   He will be joining the Mayor’s leadership team in early May after serving for 13 years as Town Planner for the Town of Wayland and 17 years as Community Development Director for the Town of Natick.


“I was pleased by City Council’s reception of Mr. Sarkisian,” said Mayor Sisitsky. “Their discussion showed that there are many shared priorities and a strong desire to be mutually supportive. Mr. Sarkisian’s well-earned reputation as a collaborative problem-solver will be a terrific asset as he leads our PCD.”


Mayor Sisitsky’s appointees to serve three-year terms on volunteer Boards and Commissions also garnered unanimous approval from the Appointments Subcommittee and full Council. Council Chair Phil Ottaviani pointed out that many of the appointees are new to government service, although they bring strong histories of professional experience and community engagement.  


They are:

  • Ben Gustafson (District 5): Bicycles, Pedestrians, and Trails Committee
  • Gregory Hayes (District 1) and Roberta Ho (District 3): Human Relations Commission
  • Carolyn Assa (District 1), Magdalena Janus (District 5), and Elena Tsizer (District 6): Women, Children & Families Commission
  •  Richard Constant (District 3): Veterans Council


Also unanimously ratified were Jeff Goldberg (District 3) and Nancy Novo O’Connor (District 1), who will serve during 2022 on the Ordinance Review & Recodification Committee, which convenes every five years, as stipulated in the City Charter.


Information about the role of these and other boards and commissions can be found on the city’s website here. To submit an application to fill a board or commission vacancy, go to


For more information about volunteer boards and commissions, please contact Keziah Franca at   

Facebook Twitter Email